Never ever get behind the wheel of a car while intoxicated. It is recommended that you have a designated sober driver to make sure everyone gets home safely. A DUI arrest can seriously affect your life.
San Diego DUI bail amounts can start at $2500 and may increase based on criminal history, repeat offenses, and circumstances around the offense. After legal fees, court fines, bail amounts, and insurance increase, a drunk driving arrest may cost over $10,000.
Additionally, you may lose your freedom and your job. Some California jurisdictions require jail time even for first-time offenders. Based solely off of the DUI arrest you will face a license suspension and could face an additional suspension if convicted in a court of law.
The State of California and courts across San Diego County take DUI very seriously. California is one of the strictest states to receive a DUI conviction. It just isn’t worth it. If you are involved in a collision, drunk driving may ruin your life and the life of someone else. Fortunately, drunk driving campaigns have had a major impact on reducing drunk driving.
Below we look at some tragic DUI accidents that occurred on San Diego County roads recently.
Oceanside: Bail Posted in DUI with Injury
A 19-year-old was arrested and charged with gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, felony and misdemeanor counts of DUI causing injury, plus charges for possession of a controlled substance after plowing a pickup truck into a family's crowded car, killing three people and injuring three other family members. He entered a not guilty plea and had his DUI bail upped from $602,000 to $800,000. The teen faces 13 years in state prison if convicted as charged.
According to police, the teenager was heading south on South Coast Highway when he allegedly ran a red light at Oceanside Boulevard, crashing his Toyota Tacoma into the driver's side of an eastbound Mazda sedan. The broadside impact sent the Mazda across the road crossing and ejected two backseat passengers. The two men in the front seats wound up trapped in the wreckage. The teenager was uninjured in the crash.
San Diego DUI Fatality Results in $1 Million Bail
A 21-year-old woman’s bail was set at $1 million in a fatal drunk driving crash that killed a passenger in a Lyft vehicle and injured two occupants. She was charged with gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated and DUI causing injury and faces 13 years and four months in prison if convicted as charged.
Every defendant and the prosecutor are entitled to a bail review hearing. After the initial bail is set, a defendant may make a motion to reduce or even eliminate the bail and a prosecutor may make a motion to increase the bail amount. A judge reviews the case including the facts and circumstances and the defendant's criminal history.
You Can Be Charged with a DUI Even When Your BAC Is Under .08
You may still be charged with a DUI even when after you have been drinking are under the legal limit of .08 and you are in an accident. We had a client who was not a regular drinker but on a very special one-time occasion agreed to join in on the celebration and had a few beers. On his way home that night he was involved in an accident, and although his blood alcohol content turned out to be .06, he was arrested under charges of DUI and gross bodily injury. He called our bail bond office and we were able to help him out.
At King Triton Bail Bonds, we know how hard it is to have a loved one in jail. That is why our bail bondsmen are dedicated to providing you with all the information you need to know about what you can do to get your loved one out fast. If you have a loved one that is arrested in San Diego County California give us a call, we are happy to help. This includes anyone arrested in San Diego County.