Under California Penal Code 451 and 452, arson is the crime of willfully and maliciously setting fire to a building, property or forest land. Arson is always a felony.
Reckless arson is the crime of recklessly setting fire to a building, property or forest land. This crime is a felony when:
- A building or forest land is burned, or if
- The fire causes great bodily injury
If someone dies as a result of arson, the offenders can be charged with PC 187 murder under California's felony-murder rule.
Contact King Triton Bail Bonds today to help a friend or family member arrested for arson secure release from jail.
Arson Bail Bonds Costs in San Diego County
Bail bonds costs for arson and reckless arson can range from $50,000 to $500,000 but the bail can skyrocket to millions for very serious offenses.
In San Diego County, bail costs are determined in the County's own Bail Schedule. When an accused person remains in jail until he or she appears in court, the judge will decide if the bail cost is raised or lowered or even if bail is refused.
San Diego County has a number of laws relating to arson crimes. Protect the rights of your loved one and help him or her get out of jail and prepare a strong defense. Contact our experienced bail bondsmen in San Diego, Vista or Santee today.
Call 24/7: 760.505.0811 (Local) | 844.BAIL.400 (Toll-Free)Pre-approved in 5 minutes »
How Much Time in Jail Can Someone Get for Arson?
For willful or malicious arson, the defendant may be facing:
- 16 months, 2 or 3 years in state prison for malicious arson of personal property
- 2, 4 or 6 years in state prison for malicious arson of a structure or forest land
- 3, 5 or 8 years in state prison for malicious arson that causes an inhabited structure or inhabited property to burn
- 5, 7 or 9 years in state prison for arson that causes great bodily injury
- A fine of up to $10,000
For reckless arson, the defendant may be facing:
- 16 months, 2 or 3 years in state prison for reckless burning of a structure or forest land
- 2, 3 or 4 years in state prison for reckless burning of an inhabited structure or inhabited property
- 2, 4 or 6 years in state prison for reckless burning that causes great bodily injury
For a San Diego first-degree murder, the defendant may be facing:
- 25 years - life in prison
- Life in prison without the possibility of parole
- The death penalty
Arson in San Diego County: Case Examples
- The defendant, 61, was arrested on a charge of malicious destruction of property by fire. He was held without bail from the moment of his arrest that took place after firefighters responded to a brush fire. Officials suspected that the fire was caused by one of the 5 incendiary devices found at the scene.
- The defendant was apprehended after 2 freelance photographers blocked his escape from a growing California fire. The man, 27, was charged with arson after being arrested for setting a 15-acre fire. He was held on a $50,000 bail.
- The defendant, 29, was sentenced to 13 months in prison and ordered to pay $61 million in restitution for damage caused by the Cedar Fire. The fire burned 29,332 acres and 6 homes.
- Suspected of starting many California wildfires, including one that had burned nearly 4,000 acres and destroyed 175 structures, the defendant was held on $5 million bail at his first court appearance.
- The defendant was arrested after starting a wildfire and taking a video of himself surrounded by flames. The fire turned out to be one of the worst California has seen. The defendant was held on $10 million bail and later was fined with $60 million and sentenced to 20 years in prison after pleading guilty to arson.