In California, the possession of certain controlled substances, without having a prescription, is prohibited. The controlled substances referred to by the law can include (but are not limited to):
Drugs that necessitate a valid prescription are:
"Bath salts" are a number of recreational designer substances.
In California, possessing marijuana for medical use is allowed by the law. However:
- Possessing one ounce or less for recreational use is a crime.
- Possessing a quantity bigger than an ounce is a misdemeanor.
- Possessing on school grounds is a misdemeanor.
- Possessing any quantity of concentrated cannabis is a misdemeanor.
The defendant possessed a substance when:
- Knew what type of substance it was.
- Had the substance on his or her person, or
- Knew about the substance's presence.
Bail Amount in San Diego County
Some of the drug possession crimes are:
- Possession of a controlled substance without a prescription
- Possession of clonazepam prohibited
- Possession of marijuana less than an ounce
- Possession of marijuana more than an ounce
- Possession of marijuana on school grounds
- Use or possess any synthetic cannabinoid compound or any synthetic cannabinoid derivative
- Possession of marijuana by a driver
- Transport or give away marijuana, less than one ounce
- Possession of drug paraphernalia
- Use or possess "bath salts"
- Possession of non-narcotic drugs/controlled substance
Each California County has its own Bail Schedule, meaning the bail amounts can vary. Initially, the Police Department or the Sheriff Department will set the bail according to the Schedule. A judge can later raise the amount set in the Bail Schedule, or can even refuse bail.
The Bail amounts for Drug Possession can range from $100 to $2000 depending on the circumstances and county.
We service all San Diego County Jails 24 hours a day and we have a network of bail agents within 5 minutes of every single jail in San Diego County. For more information about the bail amount, the booking process, the rights you have, and jail bail out:Pre-approved in 5 minutes »
Penalty For Drug Possession in San Diego County
Possessing a controlled substance can lead to a conviction of up to a year in jail in a county facility. In some cases, punishment can consist only in a fine of up to 1000 dollars, or the fine can add to jail time. Also, the defendant could be eligible for treatment instead of jail time.
Possessing marijuana can lead to confinement up to 6 months in jail and possessing concentrated cannabis up to 16 months.
Drug Possession Scenarios We Encountered in San Diego County
- The 16-year-old defendant was at a friend's house and they exchanged information about drug paraphernalia. The friend was later caught by the police carrying a bong. After hearing the whole story, both teenagers were charged with drug possession.
- The defendant was traveling to a music festival when she was pulled over. The driver allowed the car and her things to be searched. She was carrying without prescription a bottle of pain relievers. The police also found an old tab of ecstasy and less than a gram of cocaine. She was charged with possession and taken to jail.
- The defendant ingested LSD before being investigated. As he was under the influence, The Police concluded that prior to ingesting the substance he possessed it, and charged him with the crime.
- The Police raid the defendant's house and find drugs in his drawer. Although the defendant is not present and away in another city, he is charged with possession.
- The Police were called to a hotel because a woman was damaging her room. They found the room walls damaged and the defendant rambling about evil spirits. A family member told the Police she was a bath salts user.
- While driving accompanied by a friend, the defendant is stopped. His friend places a bag of cocaine at his feet. A Police Officer sees the bag and arrests both of them.