According to California's Vehicle Code, driving requires a valid license. It must be issued by the state where the driver lives and must be appropriate for the vehicle driven. Usually, driving without a license is considered a minor offense and it doesn't lead to an arrest. The Police give a citation and the defendant has to appear in court on the set date. If the defendant misses the court date, a bench warrant for his or her arrest will be issued. Having a California arrest warrant in one's name and being caught driving without a license may have serious consequences. However, driving without a license is an expensive offense. The driver gets a ticket for not having a license, one for not having insurance and can even be fined for not having registration. As a rule, the car is impounded and getting it out is costly.
Driving Without a License Bail Bonds Costs in San Diego County
In its Bail Schedule, the San Diego Superior Court has set bail, among others, for these misdemeanors:
- Unlawful to drive unless licensed
- The subsequent offense of driving without a license
- Driver's license - out of classification
- Unlawful to drive in off-street parking facility without a license or out of classification
At King Triton Bail Bonds, we have seen bail amounts for these offenses range from $1,500 all the way up to $150,000 due to failure to pay and failure to appear at scheduled court dates.
Is driving without a license the crime of the century? Frankly no, but you should still take it seriously. Find out more about how to get out of jail and the bail bond process by contacting our experienced bail bond agents in San Diego, Vista or Santee today.
Call 24/7: 760.505.0811 (Local) | 844.BAIL.400 (Toll-Free)Pre-approved in 5 minutes »
How Much Time in Jail Can Someone Get for Driving Without a License in San Diego County?
When charged with driving without a license, the defendant could face:
- Probation for up to three years
- Up to six months in a county jail
- And/or a fine of up to $1,000
Driving Without a License in San Diego County: Case Examples
- The defendant was charged with driving without a license after driving although he never obtained a valid license.
- The defendant, an international student holding an EU driving license, had established residency in California but had not obtained a driver's license. The defendant was charged with driving without a license.
- The defendant was driving although his driver's license was expired.
- The defendant, an undocumented immigrant, was charged with driving without a license. In order to apply for a license, the interested person must have a social security number. Illegal immigrants that come to work in California and need to drive, often take risks and use cars without having a valid license.
- The defendant, a new mom, forgot to check the expiration date on her license. She also had an older arrest warrant in her name that she did not pay attention to. She was pulled over, Police saw her papers, and she was arrested and charged with driving without a license.